Match Day 12 – PREVIEW

Avondale are set for a mega encounter this weekend when they take on Heidelberg United in Grand Final rematch at Olympic Village on Saturday.

The result of the top-of-the table clash could have huge ramifications on the rest of the season – a win for Avondale will see them open up a nine-point gap on top of the table, while a win for Heidelberg would close the gap to just three points.

The Avengers enter the fixture in scintillating form, having won all but one of their games so far this season. The Azuri are also still yet to trail at any stage this season after over 1,100 minutes of football.

But they’ll have their work cut out for them if they want to continue their club-record unbeaten run, coming up against a tough ‘Bergers outfit.

Heidelberg sit second on the table and have won their last five league games. However, they’ll come into the game on the back of a defeat after losing to Hume City in the FFA Cup.

United lead 2-0 at one stage and took the lead another two times after Hume equalised, but they were eventually overrun by a resilient City outfit, losing 5-4 in extra time.

The tough cup outing could give Avondale a crucial fitness advantage. The Azuri were able to defeat the Preston Lions 2-0 on Wednesday and avoided going to extra time.

The two sides last met in the 2018 NPL Vic Grand Final, with Heidelberg emerging 2-1 victors in a thrilling encounter.

Game time:
Saturday May 11th
@ Heidelberg – Olympic Village

Form Guide:
2-0 W @ Preston (FFA Cup)
3-0 W vs Altona
3-1 W vs Oakleigh
6-2 W vs Dandenong Thunder
1-1 D @ Hume City

5-4 L vs Hume City (FFA Cup)
2-0 W vs Port Melbourne
5-2 W vs Dandenong City
2-0 W vs Bentleigh
3-2 W vs Kingston City

Last year:
Avondale 1 -1 Heidelberg (rd 13)
Heidelberg 2 – 3 Avondale (rd 26)
Avondale 1 – 2 Heidelberg (grand final)

Avondale squad:
1. Chris Oldfield (GK)
2. Scott Hilliar
3. James Riccobene
4. Charles Beverly
5. Matthew Reid
6. Anthony Strano
7. Stefan Zinni
8. Jem Berkant
9. Liam Boland
10. Jonatan Germano
11. Keenan Gibson
12. Yusuf Ahmed
13. Yitay Towns
17. Phillip Riccobene
18. Tasuku Sekiya
19. Brandon Lundy
22. Stefan Valentini
23. Christian Inglese
24. Dillon Jakupi
33. Joey Katebian
37. Jye Spiteri

By Bransen Gibson

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *